Saturday 17 August 2019

Longborough Festival Opera

Event ended

Editor's Choice

Another season of theatrical drama and orchestral music is heading to the Cotswolds this summer, as Longborough Festival Opera's 2019 season gets underway.

A definite highlight in the county’s calendar, Longborough Festival Opera will return from Wednesday 5 June to Saturday 3 August 2019.

Set in the heart of the Cotswolds, the festival is a must-visit for all ages. SoGlos has rounded up 2019’s highlights below.

For more information about the festival visit lfo.org.uk directly.


Das Rheingold

Wednesday 5, Friday 7, Sunday 9 and Tuesday 11 June 2019


Wagner’s larger-than-life tale of giants, gods and heroism will be brought to life, telling the story of their struggles for power. Sung in German with English surtitles, Das Rheingold is the first in four musical dramas that are part of Wagner’s Der Ring des Nibelungen.

Taking place on Wednesday 5, Friday 7, Sunday 9 and Tuesday 11 June 2019 from 6.30pm, the performance brings together Longborough’s music director, Anthony Negus, with ROH director Amy Lane to offer an intimate evening of the finest opera.


Anna Bolena

Saturday 22, Tuesday 25, Thursday 27 and Saturday 29 June 2019 and Monday 1 July 2019


Arguably one of the greatest Italian composers, Donizetti’s work will tell the tale of the tragic life of Henry VIII’s second wife, Anne Boleyn.

Brought to audiences by the talented duo, conductor Jeremy Silver and director Jenny Miller, the opera will take place on Saturday 22, Tuesday 25, Thursday 27 and Saturday 29 June 2019 and Monday 1 July 2019.


Don Giovanni

Thursday 11, Saturday 13, Sunday 14, Tuesday 16, Thursday 18 and Saturday 20 July 2019


Mozart’s moving work will unfold the story of Giovanni who commits an inexcusable crime. A hint of philosophy and a sprinkle of comedy make the performance captivating.

Conducted by Thomas Blunt and directed by Martin Constantine, the production will take place on Thursday 11, Saturday 13, Sunday 14, Tuesday 16, Thursday 18 and Saturday 20 July 2019.


La Calisto

Monday 29 and Wednesday 31 July 2019, Friday 2 and Saturday 3 August 2019


Greek mythology, jealously and a hint of comedy make for a great tale from composer Cavalli. Dubbed as the Young Artist Production of 2019, La Calisto will feature exceptional artists at the beginning of their career.

Conducted by Lesley Anne Sammons and directed by Mathilde Lopez, the opera is a chance to see this rare work on Monday 29 and Wednesday 31 July 2019, Friday 2 and Saturday 3 August 2019.

Event:
Longborough Festival Opera 2019
Venue
Longborough Festival Opera
Dates:
Wednesday 5 June 2019; Friday 7 June 2019; Sunday 9 June 2019; Tuesday 11 June 2019; Saturday 22 June 2019; Tuesday 25 June 2019; Thursday 27 June 2019; Saturday 29 June 2019; Monday 1 July 2019; Thursday 11 July 2019; Saturday 13 July 2019; Sunday 14 July 2019; Tuesday 16 July 2019; Thursday 18 July 2019; Saturday 20 July 2019; Monday 29 July 2019; Wednesday 31 July 2019; Friday 2 August 2019; Saturday 3 August 2019
Times:
From 5pm
Admission:
Ticket prices vary, from £35 to £200, contact organisers for specific ticket prices.
Telephone:
(01451) 830292

© SoGlos
Thursday 13 December 2018

Map

Directions…

More events you might like...

Enjoy gins, beers and foodie treats at the Cotswold Distillery Festival.

Cotswolds Distillery Festival

Saturday 17 August 2019

Sip on incredible gin and tuck into foodie delights at the Cotswolds Distillery Festival this August.

The Big Feastival

Friday 23 to Sunday 25 August 2019

Enjoy a jam-packed weekend of food and drink, live music and plenty of festival fun for all the family, when The Big Feastival...

Witcombe Cider Festival

Friday 23 to Sunday 25 August 2019

Sip on the finest county ciders, see a host of live music acts and have a great time in the family zone at Witcombe Cider...

Listen to incredible music at The Crown & Sceptre this August bank holiday.

Outer Fringe Festival at The Crown & Sceptre

Friday 23 to Monday 26 August 2019

Making a memorable August bank holiday, The Crown & Sceptre is hosting its Outer Fringe Festival, with live music, a flea...

Phoenix Festival in Cirencester

Saturday 24 to Sunday 25 August 2019

Join in the fun at Cirencester’s annual music and arts festival this August.

Unmissable highlights